Q&A: Adi Badenhorst (by wine-searcher.com)

Posted: December 3, 2012 by wynmaker in Cellars, Oenology, South Africa, Vinification, Wine, Winemaking, Wineries, World wine news
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Adi Badenhorst.

Adi Badenhorst.

One of South Africa’s biggest wine personalities, Adi Badenhorst lives in the Swartland with his wife and two children, a dog as big as a bear, peacocks and chickens. He specializes in Rhône blends made from gnarly old vines.

What do you see when you look in the mirror?

I turned 40 on the 18th of September – so I was born in 1972 – and I had a bit of a party a few weeks before that. And when I looked in the mirror, I said: ‘F***, you are looking good, man – damn fine!’

Where did you grow up?

I haven’t thrown up in a long time. Not since I was 14.

What drew you to wine?

I was born into wine. My grandfather and my father were both viticulturists, so I grew up on wine farms and started making wine when I was at school. Made some really dodgy wines – a bit of pinot grigio and a bit of cab.

Then, I went to Stellenbosch University to study something. Three gloriously blurry years went by before I went to agricultural college – a pseudo-academic institution where you do bucket chemistry and a bit of winemaking – and then I could get a semi-proper job. I never got a degree; I’m a bit of a cerebral dwarf when it comes to that sort of stuff.

What’s your view of scoring wines by points?

I don’t know. I’m no good at maths so it doesn’t work for me. If it’s more than 10, I get a bit nervous!

Who are your heroes?
Read on …

Leave a Reply

