‘Organic’ isn’t a passing fad for some wineries (by James Romanow)

Posted: April 10, 2013 by wynmaker in Cellars, Oenology, Vinification, Wine, Winemaking, Wineries, World wine news
Tags: , , , , , , ,

 

 

In the last decade, I have discovered that the wines I enjoy the most are often produced by organic and biodynamic wineries. This intrigues me.

I come from an era when a slogan beloved in my high school, was “Better living through chemicals.” By nature, I tend to worry less about motivation and more about outcome. In addition, I spent the last 30 years of my life with a morbid fascination of fraud, particularly wine fraud.

These three factors make me somewhat skeptical about the quasi-religious faith systems many consumers invest in their foods and eating habits. I cannot think of anybody less inclined to chase organic products than myself.

What most consumers don’t realize is how entrenched are the notions of organic viticulture. Some of the largest producers in the world are organic and more are choosing this route every year. Many of them always have been organic. As it happens, the back label of a wine bottle is a lousy place to try to explain this to consumers. Therefore, I am writing a series of columns on the various forms of viticulture and production this takes.
Read on …

Leave a Reply

