Is Your Tasting Room Successful? (by svbwine.blogspot.com)

Posted: May 22, 2013 by wynmaker in Cellars, Tasting, Wine, Wineries, World wine news
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

 

The other day I  stopped in at Wal-Mart to get some things. While checking out, a very large woman in very tight clothes came up from just outside the store and angrily told my cashier she lost her debit card after she paid. While I looked around the floor for the card the cashier said, “Yes, I remember you putting it back in an envelope” to which the woman replied, “Its not in there. I put it in the envelope but you rushed me to get out of line. You rushed me. I want to see your manager!”  ….. Are you kidding me? I had to work at holding my tongue.

What is it about the human condition that makes it so hard to accept personal responsibility? A similar version of that is the medical condition known as …. Headinthesanditosis.

Quite sometime ago I had a client come in the office to talk. Already three vintages behind the market and unable to meet financial obligations, it was time to have a direct discussion about viable solutions. She was really quite an intelligent person but before we could even get to the part where we discussed alternatives in her control like sales strategy, ranking distributors success, branding, market presence, pricing strategy, proper cost allocations, ways to use inventory to raise cash, etc., I was offered the following:

“Its not like I’m the only one with financial problems. The whole industry is suffering and not current with releases. The only problem I have is you wont give me more money.”
I had to tell her the view she held of the market was askew. We didn’t have any other clients who were three vintages behind and in fact because of our financial benchmarking database, I was able to show her just how far out of the norm she was. She was so shocked at the information (see her in shock in the picture —-> ), that rather than accept what was in front of her, she instead tried to poke holes in the database. “Wait, are there foreign wineries in there?”

What is it about the human condition that makes us stretch the bounds of credulity rather than accept it when we aren’t measuring up?

 

Read on …

Leave a Reply

